Medium Format Photography Book Started

I started working on the Medium Format Photography book today. I’m using a Yashicamat 124-G and a crude, bare-bones Holga 120N. Both use 120 film. All of the photographs will be taken with Tri-X. I have to use an external light meter with the 124-G since the original batteries were the mercury type and are no longer available. There’s really no point in using a light meter with the Holga except for reference.

Using the Holga is going to be a challenge. There is really no way to control exposure other than keeping your finger on the shutter release for a longer or shorter time. I shot the first roll about a half hour ago in direct sunlight. The light meter read f8 at 1/250 so I tried to click the shutter pretty fast.

I love this blurb that’s on the Holga box and have it pinned on the cork board above my drawing table.

HolgaStatement_lo_res

 

It stretches the truth a bit. It’s going to take some time and a lot of film to dial in the Holga. I hope it’s worth it. I’ll be posting updates along the way.

 

Leave a comment